RIQAS EQA Scheme from Randox

RIQAS - EQA Schemes for Laboratory Medicine

RIQAS is the biggest international EQA scheme in the world, used by more than 23,000 laboratories in over 105 countries worldwide. This large number of participants makes RIQAS the best quality EQA scheme in the world and ensures an extensive database of results for many analytical methods directly increasing statistical validity as a result. 

External Quality Assessment (EQA) is an essential aspect of any laboratory operation providing labs with a means of assessing their analytical performance compared to other laboratories utilising the same methods and instruments. The main functions include:

  • Maintaining and improving analytical quality
  • Improving inter-laboratory agreement thus raising standards
  • Detecting equipment failures, identifying reagent problems, reviewing staff training
  • Initiating and evaluating corrective actions
  • Comparing different analytical methods

Features and Benefits

  • Human samples free from interfering preservatives therefore mirroring the performance of patient samples
  • Extensive list of parameters covering the clinically relevant concentration ranges.
  • Flexibility – reduced analyte options available for selected programmes making RIQAS suitable for use in laboratories of all sizes and budgets
  • Rapid turn around of reports (24-48 hours)
  • User friendly reports providing statistical breakdown of results by method and instrument, Levey Jennings charts to identify trends etc, target scoring charts grade performance in a moving window for the last 20 samples.
  • Multi instrument reports and inter-laboratory reports available

Laboratory accreditation

RIQAS provides Certificates of Participation as proof of EQA participation for laboratory accreditation. Randox and RIQAS systems and procedures are accredited to a number of internationally recognised standards:

  • ISO 13485:2003 for the design and manufacture of medical devices
  • RIQAS is a UKAS accredited Proficiency Testing Provider, No. 0010, and is accredited to ISO/IEC 17043:2010, 'Conformity Assessment- General Requirements for Proficiency Testing', which cancels and replaces ISO/IEC Guide 43 - (1+2) and ILAC G13:2007
  • Recognised by the UK National Quality Assurance Advisory Panel (NQAAP) for Clinical Pathology
  • Recognised by the Joint Working Group on Quality Assurance (JWG QA)

RIQAS results can be submitted using one of the following methods:

  • RIQASNet – RIQASNet is an internet based data entry system allowing participants to return results and view reports online.  Participants can submit current, corrected, late and future results, directly into the RIQAS database eliminating the need to fax or email EQA results.   Reports are then emailed directly to participants in pdf format when available. Current and previous reports are also available to download directly from the internet.